Play the Part

12 Sep

So! I just returned from a month’s stay in South America, and I couldn’t be more pleased to see that my blog has grown to quite the large audience, even with the lack of posts.

Today I decided I needed a change, so I cut about 3 inches off my hair. BUT. That wasn’t enough. I was still missing something… In a previous post, I mentioned that a good way to switch things up is to change your bangs. I played a little with which direction my bangs would go, but ultimately decided on a straight part. Since my bangs have grown out, I no longer have any defining boundary for my bangs.

I have a very small head with an oval face-shape. (To determine your face shape, see the image below)

There are many “parts” you can use to enhance (or possibly detract) from your own natural beauty. Also, long/short hair makes a big difference here.

Side Part – I personally hate to see straight bangs with a side part. It bothers me because it takes the symmetry out of a simple straight cut. I think side parts work best with layered haircuts. (The long bang accentuates layered hair, and if it’s short hair, the long bang gives it more character in my opinion.)

Straight Part – Edgy. Sophisticated. Unique. With all the pop-icons going with side bangs, it’s pretty rare to see many people sporting a straight bang (and I personally admire those who do ;)). Anyway, you don’t want to go with a straight bang if you have a long face, as straight bangs tend to make the face appear longer.

Really, you should choose whichever look you like best, but if you do and it doesn’t match the “criteria” I just mentioned, find a way to pull it off! If you’re really skinny, make sure your hair has lots of volume so that you make an impression in front of people. If you’re really curvy, accentuate your curves and go with side bangs. If you have nice cheekbones, go with a shorter cut (I think I might be bloggin’ on a pixie cut soon *ear-to-ear-grin*). You know yourself better than anyone, and you probably spend more time looking at yourself than anyone else, so you should be able to deduct which part fits your personality better. Seriously, just play around with it! If you have some girlfriends, get them together and ask what they think -just don’t let them be mean… confidence is not so easy to rebuild, but it’s the most important to sustain. Good luck! And keep reading! I want to see these numbers DOUBLE next week! 😀 Peace.

Leave a comment